51a — Shout Out the Decalogue (Music)

A Jewish Song Explaining the Decalogue —

Enjoy this Jewish musical explanation of the Decalogue (also known as the Ten Commandments) written by Naomi Less and Glenn Grossman.

According to the songwriters, the Decalogue is the ultimate list of do’s and don’ts. “If everyone actually listened to what the Ten Commandments are saying, there would be a lot less problems in the world.”

The Ten Statements of the Decalogue

Notice that the Jews refer to the Decalogue as being ten statements instead of commandments and number them this way:

  1. “I the Lord am your G-d who brought you out of Egypt.”
  2. “You shall have no other gods besides Me.” (Jews combine this command and the command about idols into one.)
  3. “You shall not swear falsely by the name of the Lord your G-d.” (Jews remove a vowel when they write G-d’s name, so as not to mistreat his actual name if they accidentally erase it.)
  4. “Remember the Sabbath day and keep it holy.” (Jews put an emphasis on everyone taking a holy break on the 7th day for rest and recreation with family. The 7th day begins on Friday night at sundown.)
  5. “Honor your father and mother that you may long endure on the land.” (Jews link obedience to this command with God giving them the privilege of living in the Promised Land (Israel).
  6. “You shall not murder.”
  7. “You shall not commit adultery.”
  8. “You shall not steal.”
  9. “You shall not bear false witness against your neighbor.”
  10. “You shall not covet anything that is your neighbor’s.”

My Prayer

Dearest G-d, May all people everywhere see the importance of the Decalogue and be blessed as we obey your life-giving commands. Amen.